Babylon

When you start training at a new job, you don’t tend to feel wildly over-dressed in a simple (but nice-ish) blouse with plaid skirt and tights.  Presentable, but definitely on the casual end of business-casual (if that means what I think it means).  Fortunately I was one of two who showed up *not* in shopping-with-the-girlfriends clothes, so my discomfort was minimal.  Also didn’t expect the kind of informal atmosphere that, after a while, encouraged off-colour jokes, swearing, confessions beginning with, “One time when I was drunk I did x”, and talking over the supervisor… Never have I been in such a pool of recruits!  A fascinating display of silliness, pontification…igncalskjda;l (further gripes removed).  All in all, they seemed pleasant enough, but if I thought the job itself was going to be the key factor in the ‘fish out of water’ experience, I was wrong.  It’s going to be getting along with these folks, and having the proper measure of grace (especially for that one fellow who expresses such bitter disdain for everything that’s important to me).  Ah, well, I’m hardly there to please him, and I’m sure the inverse (converse?) is also true.  I daresay some people in the room won’t like ME!  *sigh* Living like a civilised and patient person, with conviction, in this world is so difficult.  This is more of a mission jungle than a mission field, but that’s more than enough reason to stick around, God help me.  In the interest of avoiding causing offence, I won’t give any details; let’s simply say that the session was wild.  Just one point of interest: after a couple of folk returned from the break with ‘fast food’, one person in the room remarked that (s)he did not eat ‘processed’ products.  Fair enough!  This person, however, when earlier asked what (s)he liked about a town I will call Aea, had replied, “All the cheap alcohol.”  But (s)he does not ingest processed food.  Interesting.

“But we urge you, brothers, to [love one another] more and more, and to aspire to live quietly, and to mind your own affairs, and to work with your own hands, as we instructed you, so that you may walk properly before outsiders, and be dependent on no one.” –I Thess. 4:11b-12

Leave a Reply

